Gallery M Open Contemporary Art Prize 2019

The Gallery M Open Contemporary Art Prize is an exciting opportunity for South Australian artists to exhibit their work in one of Adelaide's premier visual art spaces, as part of the SALA Festival.

This is the fourth year of this prestigious exhibition, an initiative of Gallery M and Jarrah Holmes of Century 21 Bayside Brighton.

The exhibition is open to any artist living and working in South Australia (aged over 18 years); using any medium.

All prizes are non acquisitive. The prizes have been generously donated by:

  • $3,000  Major Prize - Jarrah H. Holmes, of Century 21 Bayside Brighton
  • $500     Warradale Hotel Prize
  • $500     Ian Willding Emerging Artist Prize
  • $200     (product voucher) – Premier Art Supplies
  • Splashout Art Studios Award   (Award Certificate & art supplies value $500)

Entries have now closed for this exhibition

Entry to the exhibition was based on an independent judging panel selecting the finalists' artworks from the digital images submitted, with 178 artworks submitted by the closing date.

The final judging of finalist artwork will take place in Gallery M prior to the exhibition 9 August - 1 September 2019.

And the Finalists Are:

Carole Bann

Tony Barber

Shelley Bass

Trudy Brennan

Cheryl Bridgart

Jingwei Bu

Jon Carl

Sum Woon Chow

Joanna Collins

Callum Docherty

Steven Duncan

Pam Eden

Kate Foster

Jorji Gardener

Clinton Habib

John Hamilton

Kevin Hudson

Terry MacDermot

Andrea Malone

Mike McMeekan

Jo Mignone

Jessica Murtagh

Carolyn O'Neill

Tim O'Shea

Maureen Prichard

Stephen Skillitzi

Anne Stevens

Karyn Stevens

Dagny Strand

Caroline Taylor

Mark Thiele